The speed of time

2017-artThis is the cliché blog of all cliché blogs: A salute to the New Year!

In my office are a stack of 2017 calendars with empty squares. They’re freebies from businesses: an insurance company, a truck dealership, our accounting firm. My new day-planner has clean crisp pages. I have a list of birthdays, standing deadlines, and memory joggers to populate the pages.

But what memory jogger is there for writing the current year on checks? And I don’t mean just during those first weeks of a new year. Heck, just the other day I dated a check for 2014!

I figure those memory burps are because the older you get the faster the years fly by so it’s difficult to keep track of them. I’ve begun grouping the years into decades because I’m not sure of thea specific years of events, such as when two of my cousins got married (mid-80s), when I went to the Black Hills (early ‘90s) or when the U of M men’s hockey team won back-to-back NCAA titles (early 2000s).

My dad pointed out once that the 13 years we spend in school drag on and on, but after that the decades fly by. The flight began during college. One minute I was a home-sick freshman and the next I was graduating. A decade as a newspaper editor in Iowa whizzed by. I spent almost 12 years working at Northwestern College; I’ve been gone another 12 years. Now, as Frank and I near our 24th wedding anniversary in April, those years have become a blur on the timeline.

Speaking of timelines, Facebook recently pulled up a “Years Ago” post highlighting a photo from 2000. I teared up seeing my granddaughters with their baby faces and pigtails. So, TCF Bank, if one of my checks for 2017 is dated 2015, blame it on the speed of time.

One thought on “The speed of time

  1. Mary Althaus

    I always liken life to a roll of toilet paper…the closer you get to the end, the faster it goes! No lie! Dean and I can attest to that! Just gotta keep on keepin’ on and trusting the Lord to give you strength to endure to the beginning of REAL life! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

